home › Task 40

Compact Thermal Energy Storage – Materials within Components within Systems

  • Task 40
  • Currently running
  • Materials and components


Compact thermal energy storage (CTES) technologies are the subject of the Task. These technologies are based on the classes of phase change materials (PCM) and thermochemical materials (TCM). Materials from these classes will be studied, improved, characterized and tested in components. The main components for these technologies are heat exchangers and reactors and these are also studied and further improved in the Task. The temperatures of the heat that will be supplied by the thermal storage are determined by the areas of application and range from 0 °C to 20 °C for cooling purposes, from 40 °C to 95 °C for buildings, between 60 °C and 130 °C in district heating and cooling (DHC) networks and 80 °C to more than 500 °C for industry and vehicles. Due to the underlying physical and chemical processes, the charging and discharging temperatures, especially with TCM, can have very different values, with charging temperatures mostly determined by the applied heat source.

Objectives and Organization

The main objectives of the Task are to have a better understanding of the factors that influence the storage density and the performance degradation of CTES materials, to be able to characterize these materials in a reliable and reproducible manner, to have methods to effectively determine the SoC of a CTES and to have better knowledge on how to design optimized heat exchangers and reactors for CTES technologies.

To achieve these objectives, the work is organized into the following Subtasks
Subtask A: Material Characterization and Database
Subtask B: CTES Material Improvement
Subtask C: State of Charge – SoC Determination
Subtask D: Stability of PCM and TCM
Subtask E: Effective Component Performance with Innovative Materials

Task manager(s)

No task manager listed


For requests and information about Task 40, please use the contactform below.

    Task leaders

    • Dr. Andreas Hauer
    • ZAE Bayern, Germany

    Subtask leaders

    • Christoph Rathgeber
    • ZAE Bayern, Germany